Meta note: July 3

I wanted to say something quickly about why I study and write about drugs. It’s not just because I personally like drugs, though I’ll admit that was probably the impetus for my interest. It’s because, firstly, in our present social and political climate drugs are an issue of gargantuan importance. And because as such, the study of ‘drugs’ as a broad category involves a broad range of disciplines. It involves politics, economics, psychology, philosophy, sociology, neuroscience and psychopharmacology. To develop a robust understanding of drugs, one really does need to take a broad approach. There are infinite ways into the issue, and it is endlessly fascinating on this account.

I’ve just acquired the book ‘High Price’, which is the memoir of neuroscientist Carl Hart, in which he studies the “relationship between drugs and pleasure, choice, and motivation, both in the brain and in society. His findings shed new light on common ideas about race, poverty, and drugs, and explain why current policies are failing.” 

I expect I’ll be writing a review in the next week, and I hope it inspires me to write a few new articles as well. Meantime, I’m finishing an article titled ‘Drug Slang is Dumb: A Public Service Announcement (and tribute to George Carlin)’, which I think is fun and informative.  Should be up by the weekend.

Leave a Reply

